Winter MVPs Announced

Big Red coaches announce team award winners to cap outstanding winter season. 

Brian Muldoon
March 22, 2018
Phillips Exeter Academy Wrestling Kevin Lyskawa

Big Red senior Kevin Lyskawa was named Team MVP of wrestling after helping lift Exeter to their fourth straight Class A title.

After an outstanding winter season, Big Red coaches have announced the 2017-18 award winners. As it is with every season, the decision to choose award winners is a difficult one due to the number of dedicated, hardworking and talented student-athletes that compete for Exeter. The individual award winners are listed below.

The winter season saw several teams excel in the postseason. Varsity wrestling, led by captain and team MVP Kevin Lyskawa ’18, captured its fourth straight NEPSAC Class A Championship while also claiming a fourth-place New England finish, and 18th place at the National Tournament.

Andrew Benson ’20 and James Cassidy ’18 earned team MVP awards for boys swimming after leading Big Red to a second place finish at the New England Championships. Benson finished the season with multiple new program records, including resetting the 200 freestyle, 100 butterfly, and medley relay times at the championship meet.

Girls swimming, paced by team MVP Madelyn Shapiro ’18, finished the season at 6-2 overall and finished seventh overall at New Englands.

Kyle Jadatz ’18 earned boys hockey team MVP as he helped Big Red win 20-plus games for the fifth straight season and become one of two programs in New England to advance to the Stuart/Corkery Elite Tournament for the fifth straight season.

Girls hockey also enjoyed a terrific season that saw the team accumulate double-digit wins for the sixth time in the last seven years, finishing at 11-11-3. Kaleigh Conte ’18 was named girls hockey team MVP.

Boys basketball earned their way into the Class A playoffs for the ninth straight year, the only program to do so since the league was realigned, and finished the season at 10-10. Zach Stenglein ’18 earned team MVP honors after a terrific season, capped by a 27 point performance in an overtime win against Andover.

Girls basketball nearly capped their season with a heroic comeback at Andover, but fell just short in a thrilling game. Samantha Weaver ’18 was named team MVP by first year head coach Hadley Camilus.

Girls squash amassed an 8-9 record throughout the course of the regular season and earned a tenth place finish at Interschols, hosted here at the Fisher Squash Center. Anna Reaman ’18 earned team MVP.

Boys squash also had a strong year as Alexander Mangiapane ’19 earned team MVP honors.

The winter season rounded out with indoor track as boys and girls respective MVPs William Coogan ’20 and Maggie Hock ’19 each qualified for Nationals. Coogan finished 14th overall in the one mile run with a time of 4:23.27 while Hock finished 19th in the national in the 800-meter, crossing at 2:15.91.

Winter 2017-18 team award winners:

The Alan M. Tarr Memorial Basketball Trophy, Most Valuable Player Award, 2018:


The Catherine E. Dunbar Girls Basketball Trophy, Most Valuable Player, 2018:


The Lloyd Bishop Hockey Trophy, Most Valuable Player Award, 2018:


The Most Valuable Member of the Girls Ice Hockey Team, 2018:


The Joseph H. Bowen Squash Trophy, Most Valuable Player, 2018:


The Mary Spruill Kilgore Girls Squash Trophy, Most Valuable Player, 2018:


The Waldo Holm Memorial Swimming Trophy, Most Valuable Team Members, 2018:



The Most Valuable Member of the Girls Swimming & Diving Team, 2018:


The Wrestling Trophy, Most Valuable Wrestler, 2018:


The Stephen Potter Memorial Track Trophy, Most Valuable Team Member, 2018:


The Most Valuable Member of the Girls Winter Track Team, 2018:


The H. Hamilton Bissell Award for Dedication and Improvement JV Squash, 2018:


The Clifford J. Gallagher Good Sportsmanship in Wrestling, 2018: